4/5 stars
Finished in under an hour. Read for school. Review below.

I am unsure of what to think: maybe it is because I wish I could see this on stage. I think that way I’d be able to fully appreciate the rawness of the dialogue, the painfully honest emotions that come through…

But, still; I enjoyed it. The dialogue (it is a play after all) was refreshingly simple and realistic, meaning not only was it an easy read but one which made me feel as though I was somehow involved in the three main characters lives, even when the play in my edition is 138 pages. The sparseness of the dialogue itself gives us, as readers, room for interpretation and thought into how we see the characters.

Whether the play was a set of memories or not I do not know. But I like to think of it this way. By seeing snap shots of the lives of the characters and the betrayal that surrounds them, the I found myself questioning not ‘what next?’, but ‘why?’.

It made me consider the daily deception of human lives- we lie to ourselves and others as though we were meant to. And the characters portray people who continuously betray each other, which makes the reader consider the intentions of the characters and their moral compass. Can we really like a character if they’re constantly lying? Maybe not, maybe so. Regardless, we become attached very easily and must see the end.

The play is so human, so honest in its portrayal of life and the love that inhabits the world that it’s brilliant.

IMG_3272.JPG